**Editors note: Welcome to my new blog – focusing on everything that happens outside the kitchen. This blog was also posted on my cooking blog, Cooking up Memories.**

It’s October, and that means my interest in horror films becomes an addiction. And the SciFi Channel’s 31 Days of Halloween only fuels my hunger for cheap thrills. The cable channel has been showing some of the 8 Films to Die For …. and since there’s no way I can take off work for the entire month of October and have a serious movie marathon, my DVR has been getting a lot of use. And, since Scott’s been out of town, I’ve been spending a lot of quality time with my TV and couch. 

Now, obviously, some of these movies were NOT worth my time, which is probably why my hubby thinks I watch junk. Others were shockingly well-produced. I’ll admit, I wasn’t expecting Oscar-worthy performances. Let’s start with the impressive ones, shall we? Get comfy, grab some movie snacks and let’s talk horror flicks. 

The Deaths of Ian Stone (2007)

  Synopsis: In England, Ian Stone finds himself trapped in a weird situation: everyday, he meets the same persons in the most different situation, including Medea and Jenny; around 5 PM, the watches stop and Ian is haunted by beings with claws and he has a painful death, waking again in another life. When an old man meets him and tells that he must protect Jenny to resurrect again, Ian begins to unravel a great mystery. (from imdb.com)

  My thoughts: This movie was one of the more original plots I’ve seen in a long time. The effects may have been a little overdone, but the story was great.  While it’s a bit confusing at the beginning, by the end, you’re filled in to a satisfying degree – unlike some movies that just leave you asking more and more questions. 

 

Baby Blues (2008)

Synopsis: On a secluded family farm, a mother suffers a psychotic break due to postpartum depression, forcing the eldest son to protects his siblings from the mother they have always loved. (from imdb.com)

My thoughts: I thought this film was great. I read some of the thoughts/comments on imdb.com and, while I understand why people were thoroughly disturbed by this movie, I think that’s exactly what makes this a great film. This movie is NOT for the faint of heart. And those with children would probably be best staying away from this one. Gore factor is a bit high, but the story line is compelling and Colleen Porch (the mom) gives an amazing performance. 

Mulberry Street (2006) 

 Synopsis: A deadly infection breaks out in Manhattan, causing humans to devolve into blood-thirsty rat creatures. Six recently evicted tenants must survive the night and protect their downtown apartment building as the city quickly spirals out of control. (from imdb.com)

My thoughts: Seriously? Rat people?? You’ve got to be kidding me. While the rat people don’t impress me much, the character development does. As one person noted: These aren’t the usual sex-starved teenagers trying to outrun a psychopath. These are middle-class, average New Yorkers. You actually CARE about the characters. The sub-stories are great – a daughter returning from war with scars and unsure how her father will handle her injuries; an old nearly bedridden veteran who’s lived in the building for decades and the other older man who won’t leave his side. I could have done without the zombie rats, but if you watch this movie for the characters, not the zombies, you should enjoy it.

 

Unrest (2006)

Synopsis: In a medical school, the freshmen students Alison Blanchard, Brian Cross, Carlos Aclar and Rick O’Connor receive the cadaver of a young woman for dissection in their anatomy class of Professor Walter Blackwell. The atheist Alison has a weird sensation that the spirit of the corpse is trying to communicate with her and tries to unravel who the woman was. Meanwhile, all the persons that handle the corpse mysteriously die. (from imdb.com)

My thoughts: The story wasn’t bad, but I have a feeling this could have been better developed. The story seemed to take a little while to get to the point. The ending left a few questions unanswered, but nothing that left you scratching your head and saying “wtf?” 

 

Wicked Little Things (2007)

Synopsis: Recently widowed Karen Tunny and her two daughters, Sarah and Emma, move to a remote mountain home which Karen has inherited from the family of her late husband. However, she is unaware that the home is situated near an old mine, the site of an early 20th century tragedy in which many children were buried alive…(from imdb.com)

My thoughts: I saw this a while ago, but I remembered liking it. Ghost children are always creepy and I can’t think of any movie with ghost children in it that didn’t sufficiently creep me out. Plus, it’s set out in the middle of nowhere, which usually is enough to creep me out too. There is scene, if I’m remembering correctly, that includes some silly sex-starved teens (which seems to be a requirement for horror films these days) that I think could have been done better. 

 

Crazy Eights (2006)

Synopsis: Six people are brought together at the funeral of a childhood friend. While settling the estate, they discover a map, which leads them on a search for a long forgotten time capsule, at the request of their dead friend. What they discover reawakens repressed childhood traumas and leads them on a journey through their long abandoned childhood home: a home with a terrible secret and a mysterious dead girl who will lead them to their strange fates (from imdb.com)

My thoughts: I was a little disappointed in this movie … I thought I would like it – crazy mental institution for a setting? How could you go wrong? Apparently … this is how they go wrong. There are just way too many questions left unanswered with this movie. I seriously had to watch it twice and STILL didn’t get it. The editing left much to be desired. I wouldn’t waste your time.

Borderland (2007)

Synopsis: Three college students, Phil, Ed, and Henry take a road trip into Mexico for a week of drinking and carefree fun only to have Phil find himself a captive of a group of satanic Mexican drug smugglers who kill tourists and whom are looking for a group of new ones to prepare for a sacrifice. (from imdb.com)

My thoughts: This movie was disgusting. I don’t do very well with ‘true-story’ torture films … which is why I have yet to watch Touristas. There was a decent amount of gore and while the story was well-told, it just didn’t do it for me. 

 

 

Lake Dead (2007)

Synopsis: The Lake sisters – Brielle, Kelly and their step-sister Samantha – receive a surprising inheritance from their unknown grandfather that has just died. Brielle and Kelly join a group of friends and travel in a RV to visit the Lake Motel and decide what to do with the property. Sooner they finds that their unknown relatives are deranged psychos. (from imdb.com)

My thoughts: When this movie started off, I was sure I was going to be disappointed … it had the typical gorgeous, size 0 actresses, lots of sex and seemed to be really flat. By the end of the movie, I kinda like the story, but still felt the characters were flat. I think I’d rather see this movie remade with some actors who depict “real” people. 

 

Dark Ride (2006)

Synopsis: Ten years after he brutally murdered two girls, a killer escapes from a mental institution and returns to his turf, the theme park attraction called Dark Ride. About to crash his path are a group of college kids on a road trip who stumble across the park. (from imdb.com)

My thoughts: I had a feeling I wouldn’t like this movie, but I wanted to give the people at After Dark the benefit of the doubt. Turns out, my first instinct was right. I didn’t even get through a half hour of this movie before I turned it off. SO not worth wasting my time for. This is the stereotypical teen slasher film that I can’t stand. College kids are just stupid. I mean seriously, who thinks it’s a good idea to spend a night in a theme park??? Oh, and the girl they pick up hitchiking … totally annoyed me to no end. That’s about the point when I turned it off. 


