No, I haven’t completely lost my mind … Halloween has always been a time of new beginnings for me. It’s only fitting, since it is the eve of the Celtic New Year. In the days of the Celts, Nov. 1 was celebrated as Samhain (sow-en), meaning “summer’s end.” The Celts would begin their celebrations at sunset the night before (makes sense that we now start trick-or-treating at sunset huh?) For the Celts, this marks the renewal of the Wheel of Life, when the Old God dies and returns to the land of the dead and the Old Crone goddess falls into mourning for her consort. (Read more about the Celtic New Year here.)

Now’s the time to look back and honor all the people who have left our lives in the past year. And to look forward to the cold winter … I’m not so excited about that part, but I do like the idea of new beginnings. In the last few days I’ve made some small changes in my life that I’m hoping I”ll be able to stick with throughout this new year. Among them: 

 

  • Drinking enough water each day – It’s not easy, but I’m trying!
  • Working out more – I’m finding I feel better when I do work out – shocker, I know!
  • Watching what I eat and taking vitamins every day.
  • Exploring religions and finding myself.
  • Learning as much as I can about depression and finding natural ways to combat it. 

 

 

Happy Celtic New Year!

Happy Celtic New Year!

