I had an appointment with my family doctor on Monday to discuss changing my birth control. I’ve been on the depo provera shot for almost 8 years and, after reading some scary stories, I’m starting to wonder if some of my health and mental issues are stemming from the drug. She agreed it was possible, and gave me a prescription for some birth control pills. 

However, while I was there (and paying a $20 co-pay), I figured I’d might as well pick her brain about anything else I could think of. So, I asked for another prescription for the cream I use on my psoriasis and then, I stumped her. 

Now, if you know me well, you’ll know there are two odd things that happen to me – both of which make me irritable as hell. When my feet or my knees get hot, I am miserable. So, I decided to finally ask my doc … what’s up with my hot knees? 

She just stares at me. 

No lie. 

Her best guess is mild arthritis since it tends to flare up (pun intended) when I spend a lot of time on my feet. (Score one for a desk job.) She suggested wearing shoes when I spend a lot of time in the kitchen (which is when I told her it tends to flare up). And if it continues, she’ll order some x-rays and see what’s going on. 

So, Thanksgiving will be the first test … If I fail, I may be adding one of those gel kitchen floor mats for Christmas.

