Today was awesome … and I wish I knew just what it was that helped me get my brain into a “happy” mood. Maybe it’s the fact that tomorrow is a holiday and I don’t have to work (a rarity), or maybe I just happened to wake up on the right side of the bed, so to speak. But whatever it was, I’m glad it happened today. 

I got to have a long lunch and catch up with a friend I hardly get to see. It was so nice to get out of the house for a while and spend time with someone who knows how crazy life can be when you work for a newspaper (because she does, too) and swap stories about work and our health. And we laughed. It was exactly what I needed. 

Then hubby and I did a little last-minute shopping before it was time for me to get started on part of Thanksgiving dinner. I got started with dessert – bite-sized pumpkin and apple pies and apple cider ice cream. Then I moved on to chopping herbs for the turkey and gravy and I whipped up the base for the apple cider gravy. The best part of doing all that work today? Half the dishes tomorrow! 

So yeah, I have no idea why I was in such a good mood today, but it was a welcome change. I think the only time I got irritated was when we were shopping and ran into some rude drivers. It happens. Thankfully, I was able to come home and spend time with my boys …

The day can’t get any better …. 

Let’s hope tomorrow is just as good.

