(Stolen from Mandy and Krista)

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Got married.
eeep.
In Vegas.
double eep!

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn’t have a resolution, per se. I had the 101 things to do in 1001 days – and I think I’ve gotten a fairly good amount crossed off. And yes, there will be a few more resolutions made for 2009.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Our family welcomed a little bundle of joy on Oct. 27 named Samantha (my cousin). She just couldn’t seem to hold on for Halloween.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thank God. 

5. What countries did you visit?

None, but we are heading to Ireland in Feb for our belated honeymoon.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

A 9-5, Monday – Friday job.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Feb. 29 and the days leading up to and after it were extremely fun and memorable. I still can’t believe we had zero problems at our wedding. 🙂

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Paying off my engagement ring and a credit card and saving enough money to completely pay for our trip to Ireland.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not really a failure, but we didn’t get the deck stained like we hoped. 

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Just the usual colds and allergies and headaches.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

The macbook. SOOOO worth it.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My husband – for putting up with me; My mom & dad – for surviving another year in the military; My sister – for realizing and following her dreams; My grandma – for being herself (and not appologizing for it); My grandpa – for being so patient with my grandma.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

An incident at work – I’m leaving it at that.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Bills.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Our wedding and subsequent reception up north.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

“Taylor” by Jack Johnson (Watch the outtakes video here – click on bonus videos and go to the second set.)

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder? Same – it’s hard to compare to the pre-wedding craziness.

b) thinner or fatter? I like to think of it as “winter weight,” thank you very much.

c) richer or poorer? Depends on the time of the month and how many bills I’ve accidentally paid twice.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Cook for friends. Smile.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Sleep – as much as I love it, it tends to take away from other things. And complain …. I need to get a handle on that habit.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With our friends Laura & Tony having an awesome Italian meal and watching Mamma Mia!

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

Yes … with Whole Foods … *sigh*

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Fringe – but don’t tell me what’s happened, I’m about 6 episodes behind.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I think the list is short – I mostly just dislike all people at some point. 🙂

24. What was the best book you read?

Mists of Avalon – I was finally able to get through the whole book. 

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

That our SUV has a car alarm.
Oh, that’s not what you meant? Too bad.

26. What did you want and get?

Lots – to marry my love (and do it stress-free); a new macbook so I don’t have to share with my hubby; endless snuggles from one little black cat named Lovie and endless laughs from the one named Loki; great friends who always seem to know the right things to say; good health and a great home.

27. What did you want and not get?

A new job.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

I have lots of favorites – Dark Knight, Juno, Mamma Mia

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Scott and I went to see Jack Johnson in concert – it freakin’ rocked. We were in the pit in the front … soooo cool.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Enough money to stay home and spend my time cooking and baking for others – or a new job. 🙂

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

Eclectic. I go for comfort – jeans, t-shirts, sweats. But the J-O-B says I need to dress up every once in a while …. stupid job.

32. What kept you sane?

My cats, tea, chocolate truffles, coffee, and my hubby – the most understanding and patient man I know.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

By fancy you mean …. ?
Mike Rowe always makes me laugh. I’ve been immensely impressed with our president-elect Barack Obama and his gorgeous family.  

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Abortion/birth control issues always stir something.

35. Who do you miss?

My parents and my sister. I wish they lived closer.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

Not one person, but the Dealing with Depression group on Sparkpeople has been a lifesaver for me.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

Let it go. It’s not worth your energy if you can’t change it. A friend best said it like this: “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. Every new day begins with possibilities. It’s up to us to fill it with things that move us toward progress and peace.”

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“It’s just so easy 
when the whole world fits inside of your arms” – “Banana pancakes” Jack Johnson

