Yes, I cheated …. I did not eat so well this weekend. I really did try my best, but some things I just couldn’t resist. Like the homemade wild blueberry pie and the homemade Finnish cardamom bread (eaten warm with a little bit of butter – BLISS). 

We went up north to visit my grandparents and I swear, my family must be ALL carboholics. There were fresh bakery rolls, fresh doughnuts from the bakery, baked potatoes, fresh cardamom bread, angel food cake, and the best blueberry pie ever. (I didn’t eat all those things, but I did splurge on a few things.)

I did notice that I had an upset stomach after eating quite a few sugary things – so I’m going to try to be aware of how much refined sugar I’m taking in. I’m really glad I made my oatmeal here and took it with me – otherwise breakfast would have been MUCH more difficult! And I tried to counter-balance some of the “bad” things with lots of veggies. For lunch on Sunday I had half a baked potato (with only salt & pepper), 2 cups of steamed cauliflower and a half cup of green beans with a few bits of steak. And at dinner (after snacking on some awesome cheese and crackers), I made sure to get a big helping of salad and veggies, and smaller servings of ham and potatoes. But everything was JUST SO GOOD!!! Today wasn’t much better – Hubby ordered some cheese curds with lunch and I just couldn’t resist. They were good (esp. with the super thick buttermilk ranch dressing – YUM!), but I was really tired and got kind of crabby this afternoon. 

So, I did OK – definitely not as good as I should have, but I’m totally committed to working out twice as hard this week and getting back to eating well. Tonight when we got home I made a HUGE salad with peppers, tomato, avocado, black beans, mozzarella cheese and carrots. It was exactly what I needed. Not sure what’s on the menu yet for tomorrow, but I do know I’ll be working out hard core. I’m thinking the Biggest Loser Power Sculpt Level 1 & 2. Plus it’s back to working nights – so it’s going to be a stressful day – the hard workout will help, I think.

The weekend is over – now it’s time for damage control.

