I tossed and turned going to sleep last night worrying about starting this today. I have no idea why … it’s just running, not brain surgery. I was worried I couldn’t do it, but it’s just running. Like my friend Nikki and her husband Todd said yesterday – “You can always just walk.” …. It’s JUST RUNNING

So, today, I got up at the butt-crack of dawn (7:30 a.m. for those marking the calendar with rare achievements) and headed to the gym to jump on the treadmill. 

Part of me was scared – people will see me … I’m not good at this … what if I fall? … – but, when I got there, there were only 4 people on treadmills, so I picked one that was kind of far away from everyone else and just did it. And of course, no one cared. No one came up to me and said “You can only be on the treadmill if you can actually RUN – and not just for 60 seconds.”

Was it hard? Hell yes. The first 60 seconds of running wasn’t, but the second and third and so on were. By the end, I was staring at the clock trying to make time go by faster. (That doesn’t work by the way)

I finished. And I’m really proud of myself. I never thought I could run … when I was a kid, I used to want to go running with my dad, but I could never keep up. I’d get two blocks and practically pass out. Couple that with the fact that my dad always warned me I’d get black eyes if I ran (um, hi boobs), and I figured I”d never be a runner. (God bless Under Armour sports bras!)

Now, I’m imagining myself running that 5k … And I can even see myself finishing.

