Got a few things to cover in this post, so please bear with me. 

First, Day 3 of C25K was last week Friday … it was nice to not jump out of bed and have to go to the gym since it was my day off, but at the same time, I almost wish I had gotten up early to do that. I felt like half my day was wasted because I didn’t get to the gym until 10 and home until 10:30ish. Same with today for Day 4. It’s 11:15 and while I did get to sleep in (and was very much needed after the wine-induced – 1 glass by the way – migraine I had last night), I feel like my day is practically wasted now. BUT, on the flip side – this week is run 90 seconds, walk 2 minutes. Well, that last 2 minutes, I ran 🙂 Finished with 1.72 miles. And I feel really good. Well, I will once I take a shower. 

Yes, I’m sweaty, smelly and gross and blogging. Deal with it. 

On weigh-in last week: Down 0.6 lbs, which I’m happy about. I would have liked to have been down to 140, but I’m starting to change my attitude toward the number on the scale … it’s just a number. I am feeling better than I have in YEARS, and that’s what I really should be focusing on. I’ve noticed a difference in my attitude – I’m not as easily annoyed by people (oh, it still happens, but I’m able to deal with it better), I’m feeling much more confident in my own skin and am not as self-conscious about myself. These are HUGE accomplishments. I’m even considering asking my doc to take me off my anti-depressants. (gasp)

On food: I splurged a LOT this weekend. Ok, maybe not a LOT, but it was more than I usually allow myself. It was my birthday weekend, so I kind of gave myself a little leeway. I had quite a few of my birthday brownies and a few bowls of ice cream and a delicious hotdog while at the farmers market and a chocolate cupcake a co-worker brought in for my birthday. However, I did pass up the eggrolls at the farmers market – yeah, that doesn’t seem like much, but it’s something 🙂

A question for all the runners (if you got this far – thanks!): What should I eat before running/working out in the morning? I’m thinking that going to work out first thing in the morning, so I don’t have a lot of time for breakfast. I’ve been having 1/2 a banana and the other half when I get home. Or this morning, I had a piece of bread with almond butter and a banana when I got home.

So, what do you eat pre/post workout?

