Last week, I listened to a speaker talk about how important it is to take care of ourselves and have “me” time. It really resonated with me and I started thinking about all the things I used to do for myself but don’t do anymore.

Now, if you know me, you’re probably wondering what the hell I DO since it seems like I have oodles of time for myself. (Seriously, I ask myself the same question sometimes.) One of the exercises this speaker urged us to do was write down all the things that take up your time and energy and see where you can trim from. I noticed that I waste a lot of time on the internet just putzing around, looking at recipes, get sucked into Twitter, or just randomly checking Facebook or e-mail (I’m really not that popular, so there’s no need for me to check it every 10 minutes.)

So, today, I made a conscious decision to do what I really wanted to do – read – versus what I thought I should be doing – studying, cooking – or the reality of what I would be doing – putzing on the net and feeling like I should be doing something productive, but unmotivated to do it.

I spent 3 hours curled up on the couch with a cup of tea and a book while the rain fell outside. It was perfect. And now, I feel much more renewed and prepared to be productive tonight.

So, what have I learned from this little experiment?

  • It’s SO important to do something nice for yourself. You don’t have to always be doing something productive. It’s OK to make time for a relaxing bath, or just an afternoon of reading, or whatever it is that will make YOU happy.
  • I must limit my time at home on the internet. It’s so easy to get sucked into things and end up wasting SO much time doing nothing. On my days off, I’m going to try to limit my collective time on the internet to 3 hours a day – and in between uses, I think I’ll actually turn OFF the computer so I’m not tempted to open it up just to check e-mail.

Tell me, what’s something you would do for yourself if you had time and NO ONE to criticize you?

