Anyone else realize that it’s really Day 15 of my 30 days of running and I haven’t updated since Day 6?

Um, yeah, well … lets just call this project a big, fat, failure. *hanging head in shame* Here’s the truth – I’m completely afraid of hurting myself. And hobbling around for 4 days with minor shin splints was enough for me to take a step back and re-evaluate what I’m doing.

One of the things I love about goals is that they’re always open to revisions and tweaks. We’ve all had to revise goals – either making them more or less challenging. And, for a while there, I was really disappointed in my inability to stick with this particular goal. But, then I read these quotes:

“It is on our failures that we base a new and different and better success.” – Havelock Ellis

“Failure is only the opportunity to begin again, only this time more wisely.” – Henry Ford

“There is no failure except in no longer trying.” – Elbert Hubbard

“What we call failure is not the falling down, but the staying down.” – Mary Pickford

So, with those inspirational messages, I’m revising my goal … I’ve signed up for the Festival Foods Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving day. My goal is to run the 2-mile course in under 30 minutes. A modest goal, yes, but I know myself, and this is something that isn’t totally unattainable – like the 30 days of running, which I seriously questioned right from the beginning.

I think from now on my running goals will be in milage for the month. Life seems to get extremely complicated whenever I try to do a goal that requires everyday activity. Plus, I really want to start focusing on some other activities too – yoga and maybe Jillian Michael’s 30 day Shred. I think it’s the cooler weather that has me wanting to stay indoors more. (Though I do plan to try getting outdoors more this winter as part of Angela’s Project Snow – thankfully snow shoveling counts!)

So, here’s my question for you: Have you ever had to revise a goal and how did that make you feel?


